There's good news! Instead of deleting the friend, and risking your relationship, you can hide the friend (or group or interest). Here's how:
Log in to your Facebook account.
You should be directed to your feed. If not, go to your feed.
For this lesson, I'll be hiding Bones. Find the person you want to hide on your feed.
Hover your mouse over the status.
Click the X.
After you've made your choice, Facebook will hide the update, and/or all updates. (Or mark the post as spam, et cetera.)
If you change your mind later, you can reinstate your friend, group, or interest by clicking EDIT YOUR OPTIONS at the bottom of your feed.